Voting is now open for the ASFP Council Election 2024

The Association for Specialist Fire Protection (ASFP) has opened its online voting system for its 2024 Council Election, with member company employees able to vote for the individuals who will go on to represent the industry and drive its future direction.

An integral part of the specialist trade association, the council is responsible for establishing the ASFP’s vision, mission, and values; setting the strategy and structure; exercising accountability to shareholders; and more. Nominees represent four different sectors, from contractors and manufacturers to distributors and associates. ASFP has been actively encouraging member engagement, adding: “Your participation is crucial as the Council plays a vital role in steering the association on behalf of its members.”

This year’s associate member nominees include Chris Miles, Commercial Director at the FPA. Chris is the former Chair at ASFP and has over 30 years of experience in the testing, assessment, and certification of fire-resisting construction products.

Speaking about the council member nomination, Chris says: “There are some superb candidates running for election onto the ASFP Council this time around. If you are a member, I’d urge you to take a few minutes to peruse the candidates and place a vote for someone you believe will deliver on what you want for the passive fire industry over the next years.

After over 15 years supporting the Association on Council, including as Chair, I still feel I have a lot to contribute, so I have put myself forward to support the compliance activities for the industry via ASFP Council.

If elected or not I will work to provide a solid base from which compliance is formed for passive fire products and systems.

Best of luck to all those nominated.”

The new ASFP Council will be announced at the ASFP's Annual General Meeting on Thursday 11 April 2024 at Drapers’ Hall in London.

Voting can be done via electronic ballot here.

Members are urged to submit their vote no later than 5pm on Friday 15 March 2024, as votes received after this deadline will not be counted.

More information can be found on the ASFP website here.